Cats in Danger

Your heart skips a beat when you hear about someone harming a pet. We have animal abuse laws being ignored in Adrian Mo. It’s breath-taking to discover that there are dangerous people living just two houses away. Bates county is aware of their growing population of homeless animals and will not address this problem. Is anyone willing to help stray and homeless animals in Bates County?  Do you know where your pets are?

Our neighborhood had dozens of cats breeding and rebreeding without anyone stopping the cycle. I was recovering from throat cancer when I decided to step up and try to help these cats. I barely had enough money to provide food for my family but I started putting food out for those stray or homeless cats who dared to approach my porch. I could not look the other way any longer.

I had contacted many organizations but no one would listen to me. I could not find anyone  willing to help me nor have the knowledge of a popular TNR program. I was tired of watching people look the other way and seeing cats suffer through the weather. I still don’t understand why Bates county is not working with a Veterinarian. They could make a difference if they would only try to help. The Adrian police department has been notified about the growing number of stray or homeless cats in our neighborhood.

The Adrian police department has been notified about the growing number of stray or homeless cats in our neighborhood years before I moved in.I even had a police officer tell me to get a trap or borrow Adrian’s town trap and catch the cats on my property but then tell me that “I would have to dispose of whatever I caught.” The police officer showed no compassion for my concern about the cat problem. The town of Adrian did not want the responsibility of all these homeless cats because they “had nowhere to take them.” So it was heartbreaking to discover a family moved in and was trapping cats illegally by enticing cats onto their porch by placing food in the trap.

Many cats disappeared before we gathered evidence that a new neighbor was harming these cats that were being ignored by the officials in Adrian. There is captured evidence of a poor cat trapped on his porch. The cat was left or ignored so long that it was bleeding from its claws. The police were notified about the trap cruelty but did nothing to the family nor help the injured cat. Now that family is using antifreeze on animals that may wander onto their property. Animals face dangers every day and many pet owners assume their precious pet will be safe.We find ourselves too busy to know our neighbors but you do not want to hear about a neighbor harming people pets. It is unacceptable to allow any creature to face harm or go hungry or hurting. Many dangers go unnoticed and if your pet is outside they face dangers you may not realize.There are so many terrible things that could go wrong  but I beg you to keep your pet safe.

I was told this family is using antifreeze on animals that may wander onto their property. The police never made them prove where the other cats went but there are laws to protect our pets but the police are ignoring them. A police officer stated ” it’s a civil problem and we should take him to court.” Animals have rights and we have laws to protect animals from being harmed or poisoned. We need help protecting animals in Adrian because too many people are looking the other way. When I try to feed stray or homeless cats, the Animals Control Officer threatened me with a citation. So the

We need help protecting animals in Adrian! When I try to feed stray or homeless cats, the Animals Control Officer threatens a citation but allows a man to abuse an animal. So the police officer is willing to ticket someone trying to help the problem but then look the other way when a man is breaking the animal abuse law. Who will help me stop the animal abuse in our small town? Are your pets safe?

Animals face dangers every day and many pet owners assume their precious pet will be safe.We find ourselves too busy to know our neighbors and want to believe we are safe in a small town. If a neighbor is harming people pets, will we be next? It is unacceptable to allow any creature to face harm, left hurting or go hungry. Many dangers go unnoticed and unchecked or just ignored. If you allow your pet to go outside, please know the dangers in your neighborhood. Please keep them away from neighbors like I have.

Published by: mamakitty2015

I love my children dearly and our efforts to help others or animals. My mission for this blog will be to inform others about the issues we face assisting the abandoned or stray/feral cats in our neighborhood. We accept all forms of help and we are just a small family trying to impact the group of cats in near our home. Food and toys, cat litter and litter pans, are always needed but cash donations need to go to a vet in our area. We are not a charity yet but we do what we can. Please contact me if you have anything you could contribute to our efforts. Thank you for your time and support.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

